Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Asking Price Above bank valuation?

Default Asking Price Above bank valuation?

I need help. I saw some places that I like but bank valuation is about 50 - 80k less than valuation. Agents are given reason such as bank over conservation in their valuation. In the past when market is good bank give higher valuation, now they give lower, hence owner asking lower too....

give an example. mirage tower asking last time was at 1100 psf and bank was able to give matching valuation...now asking about 1000 psf but bank giving say 850 psf.... If I have bought in the past I would have been able to get higher loan....now I get lower loan but cheaper price.... and agent keep saying that if I wait in a few months, i can get higher loan but then prices would have rise....

I always have the opinion that units never transact above bank valuation but nowadays bank seems to give low valuation...any expert opinion?

I'm not an expert but it could be due to sellers asking for an unrealistic high price (trying their luck) due to the recent stock market euphoria.

Wait for stock market to quiet down and make a counter offer based on bank valuation.

The general bearish views articulated elsewhere in this forum is that there is absolutely no hurry to buy now.

But to balance your perspective, do yourself a favour and read through both bullish and bearish posts here... they are all very interesting.

Quote Originally Posted by lyn
    I need help. I saw some places that I like but bank valuation is about 50 - 80k less than valuation. Agents are given reason such as bank over conservation in their valuation. In the past when market is good bank give higher valuation, now they give lower, hence owner asking lower too....