http://www.straitstimes.com/Invest/S...ry_314139.html

Dec 14, 2008

small change

Hard times but let's take heart

Reports of two suicides lead me to ask if things are so dire that one should take one's life. The answer is no

By Goh Eng Yeow

No matter how difficult the times may be, Christmas has always been a period of giving and rejoicing for me.

After all these years, I can still remember the joy that lit up a little girl's face when she got a gift from a Santa Claus at the neighbourhood Woolworths store when I was a young undergraduate in England.

This year, as the Christmas mood goes into full swing, walking down Orchard Road and imbibing the festive spirit has taken on a whole new meaning for me.

You see, I have been cooped up at my desk all year round, often late into the night, trying to make sense of the grim news coming out of Wall Street.

But last weekend, I felt rejuvenated as I watched happy-looking shoppers lugging bag after bag of Christmas goodies as they emerged from Paragon and Takashimaya, which were jam-packed with the festive crowd.

The shoppers seemed oblivious to the crisis financial markets are going through as central banks across the globe race against time to stop the world's financial system from collapsing altogether.

Yet, I also felt a sense of foreboding. Will this be our last dance together with the good times before the music screeches to a halt?

It has been more than a year since the start of the credit crisis, when a vast number of mortgages soured in the United States. No end to the crisis is in sight.

The bad news only gets worse with each day. Investment banks such as Bear Stearns and Lehman Brothers have disappeared into the pages of history.

American International Group, whose unit AIA is a key insurance player here, is on life support, while once mighty lender Citigroup had to be bailed out by the US government.