Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Advice needed

Default Advice needed

Hi gurus and seniors,

I'm quite new to property investment and would like to seek some advice from the old birds here.

I have a family of 2 kids and currently staying in an HDB flat. We have saved up a bit and we're looking at buying a condo to bring up the kids (pool, security etc). Here's our situation:

HDB MOP: 9 months to go to hit 5 years. We took up HDB grant during point of purchase.

Current HDB financing: HDB loan at 2.6%

Financial situation: Sufficient to pay up the balance of HDB loan and 20% of $1.2m+- condo (thereabouts)

Preference: To keep the HDB and buy the condo

I understand that we can only buy after the MOP is up. So can you all advice what's the best option for me now? Should I just clear up the HDB loan? And assuming I want to buy a 2nd residential property in future, can I use CPF funds to partially fund it?

Or what would you do if you were in my shoes?

All inputs appreciated. Thanks.

If I will you this is what I will do.

Go for the next cherry, look for the biggest one you can buy (EC).

After 6 CM there are little meat left on the table, keep your cash and wait for the next cycle.

5 October 2012

The Singapore government on 5 October introduced a new round of cooling measures restricting home loans. Starting from 6 October, mortgages for HDB and private properties can only span 35 years, and those wanting loans longer than 30 years or beyond their retirement age of 64 will only be able to borrow up to 60 percent of the property price, the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) announced. Previously there was no time limit on house loans.

7 December 2011

Additional Buyer's Stamp Duty for
    a stable and sustainable property market

http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/text/2011/pr11-162.html

14 January 2011.

The Government announced today the following measures to maintain a stable and sustainable property market: