PDA

View Full Version : CPF Accrued Interest (The Hidden Risk) – A Real Life Example

Arcachon
21-10-18, 21:54
https://goo.gl/R8pUvo I would like more info about Property Investment

Being a property agent, I have seen many of my clients’ CPF statements. In fact, I am so busy doing calculations for them that I forget to do my own calculations.

So today, for the first time, I am going to show you my own CPF statement account.

My Own CPF Statement With Accrued Interest
CPF Accrued Interest Statement

For my current property which is a HDB flat, I have already used over $100K to pay for the flat. Take note, this doesn’t include my wife’s contribution.

Simply using $100K from my CPF has already resulted in an accrued payable interest of $21K. That is about 20% of the amount used.

(Again, this doesn’t include the accrued interest for my wife’s contribution)

Can you imagine the total CPF Accrued Interest that you have accumulated if you have fully paid off your HDB flat eg $400k?

And this CPF accrued interest continues to grow even if you have FULLY paid off – as long as you are still holding on to the HDB flat.

This is because CPF is meant for retirement and that’s why the interest to continues to grow.

Yes, it all goes back into your own account.

So what is the purpose of me showing my own CPF statement?

For me, I just have lost $21,000 cash due to CPF Accrued Interest. How?
Because in the event if I sell my flat today (6 Feb 2017), $21,000 from my cash proceeds will have to be returned back to my CPF account.

Of course, some might be questioning – isn’t this $21,000 still my money as it is returned back to my CPF account?

Yes it’s true – it is still my money.

But technically speaking – you must understand this fact.

Right now, the $21,000 is interest is actually coming at my own expense – which is the cash proceeds when I sell the flat.