PDA

View Full Version : Latest govt policies/measures.. Should I sell HDB now?

wisteria
10-03-13, 20:07
(I just figured out how to start a new thread, so i'm re-posting this here..)

I am new to this whole property talk and am feeling quite lost. Would appreciate honest and direct advice/opinion from everyone in here.

I currently have a fully paid 5-rm HDB in Woodlands. Exploring the option of buying a pte condo. Should I sell my HDB? Or should I hold and rent it out?

Just 1 week ago, I was certain that holding on to this HDB unit would make more $en$e. Especially after the announcement came out that Woodlands will be developed into the next regional centre (our unit is less than 10min walk to MRT).

But yesterday's news re govt measures to bring down prices of HDB is causing me some worry.

KBW says it's "Time to relook housing policies for the future" (ST, 9 March 2013) and 1 of the 4 key questions he raised (Should Housing Board flats continue to be an appreciating asset or return to being treated simply as a social need?) made me wonder again if holding on to this Woodlands HDB unit is a good idea...

Any thoughts??

My worry: more cooling measures will cause prices of condo to drop in the next few years AND price of my HDB goes back down and I make a loss (bought high and this is the first time in many years that it's seeing real profit)
Don't want to be slapped twice by making a wrong move now.

Advice, pls?

Arcachon
10-03-13, 20:18
First, never fully pay your HDB.

Second, always get as much loan as you can when you are able.

Third there will always have CM after CM when the property is hot, when the property market crash, there will be lot of way to encourage you to buy e.g. DPS, remove stamp duty, PC can buy HDB......

Conclusion - The more money you have the more will be inflate away by the money printing machine. Debt = Money, therefore more debt (Good debt) you have more money flowing into your account.

DuaNehNehChioBu
10-03-13, 20:53