PDA

View Full Version : Renting out the unit thru exclusive agent or should not?

newbie12
16-09-12, 13:45
Dear all forumers,

I am a newbie, wanted renting out the unit. Got many agents calling, too confuse.. Please advice renting out the unit should go thru exclusive agent or should not? What are advantages and disadvantages? Or just go for open market? Any recommended agent please. Thank you and much appreacited all advices here!

Regards,
NB

Regulators
16-09-12, 14:04
Just throw an ad and rent out yourself, that is the best. Save the rental commission being your family go on a holiday

carbuncle
16-09-12, 14:06
you may need to take a different strategy depending on how hot potato your property is. from the sound of it looks like rather hot. if you are fine to spend the time and energy dealing with viewings then by all means save on the commission. else better to have an open listing and let agents handle it. whether you trust them enough to pass your keys to them for each viewing or go down personally just to open door, is up to you.

radha08
16-09-12, 14:08
the ONLY difference i see between an agent and owner is that agent can advertise in property guru....:mad:

radha08
16-09-12, 14:09
for the record my previous 2 rentals i did myself advertised in papers...but SOME people may find it better doing thru agent...;)

carbuncle
16-09-12, 14:19
I think bro rad runs his own businesses that's why his time is more flexible and can afford to diy.

Besides, one needs to have a lot of patience too.

newbie12
16-09-12, 14:20
Thanks for the responses!

I just more concern if there will be some issues happen during the 2 years tenacy lease, legal terms or so. Would agent help to follow up? Thanks

Regards,
NB

carbuncle
16-09-12, 14:25
Agent supposed to represent you in all matters of service and negotiation. That's what they are paid half month rental per leased year for.

DC33_2008
16-09-12, 15:27