PDA

View Full Version : Bhutan is not Shangri-La on earth': Khaw

howgozit
20-10-11, 18:43
Bhutan is not Shangri-La on earth': Khaw

http://www.asiaone.com/A1MEDIA/news/10Oct11/images/20111020.153343_bhutan.jpg

AsiaOne
Thursday, Oct 20, 2011

In Parliament on Monday, Workers' Party chairman Sylvia Lim called on the Government to learn from Bhutan's gross national happiness index and its approach to growth.

Minister Khaw Boon Wan spoke in Parliament on Wednesday about his experience in Bhutan and how the small nation has studied Singapore as a country that has transited from Third World to First. He also explained why Bhutan is not a paradise on earth.
Minister Khaw Boon Wan on happiness

Bhutan was mentioned several times in this House. I visited Bhutan a few years ago, and met a good cross section of the people, from the Prime Minister, the ministers, the Chief Monk, to civil servants and ordinary folks. Of course, I am not an expert on Bhutan but the westerners' romanticised version of this ancient Kingdom does not fit the reality of what I saw. Bhutan is not the Shangri-la on earth.