PDA

View Full Version : renting property-one agent or several?

francophile
24-12-10, 08:03
So,how does the rental market work?Do you usually engage one agent or several?

Lovelle
24-12-10, 08:20
i also wwan to know

HP65
24-12-10, 08:40
i also wwan to know

If its to rent out your own ppty, stick to one you trust and be patient. If you go with multiple agents to market for you, it gets confusing and you might get undesirable tenants. I have been using the same agent for the last 10 years.

However if its to search for rental apartments, diy unless you are an expat.

francophile
24-12-10, 08:45
If its to rent out your own ppty, stick to one you trust and be patient. If you go with multiple agents to market for you, it gets confusing and you might get undesirable tenants. I have been using the same agent for the last 10 years.

so i guess the next question is-how do you know your agent is doing a good job-just trust your instincts?

Lovelle
24-12-10, 09:15

at 1 instance, i waited for several mths to get a tenant becoz i trusted 1 agent.

devilplate
24-12-10, 10:30
at 1 instance, i waited for several mths to get a tenant becoz i trusted 1 agent.

if 2wks not a single offer find another one liao lor....

DC33_2008
24-12-10, 10:32
Non exclusivity works well for me so far.

devilplate
24-12-10, 10:38
Non exclusivity works well for me so far.

more cumbersome lor....u goto open the doors for diff agts....if sm1 is lazy and busy, goto pass key to a trusted agt

Wild Falcon
24-12-10, 11:54
The rental market is very strong so most units should be able to rent out within 1-2 weeks unless one is asking for way above market prices. But I know some agents are SUPER LAZY - so it's important to choose a hardworking and reliable agent.

Lovelle
24-12-10, 12:49
2 weeks ? so fast !

my past experience, it's in months.

btw, do u guys make ur curtain here or in JB ?

devilplate
24-12-10, 13:13
2 weeks ? so fast !

my past experience, it's in months.